Licensing rounds on the Norwegian Continental Shelf

There are two systems for awarding licenses on the Norwegian continental shelf.

In 2003 the Government introduced the annual system of Awards in Predefined Areas (APA) in mature parts of the Norwegian continental shelf (NCS). This system replaced the annual North Sea Awards.

The APA system ensures that very large areas close to existing and planned infrastructure are available for the industry. The APA area will be expanded as new areas mature, but the area is not to be reduced.

In addition to the APA-system, there is a system of ordinary concession rounds held normally every second year. These rounds focus on frontier areas on the shelf where the potential for petroleum is less explored and where fewer infrastructures are built.


APA 2018


APA 2017


24th round


APA 2016


APA 2015


APA 2014


23rd round


APA 2013

APA 2012

22nd round

APA 2011

APA 2010

21st round


APA 2009

20th round


APA 2008

APA 2007

APA 2006


APA 2005

19th round

APA 2004