Nominations for the 22nd licensing round

The Ministry of Petroleum and Energy has received nominations from 37 companies for blocks the companies believe should be included in the 22nd licensing round on the Norwegian shelf.

The deadline for submitting nominations expired on 11 January.

The 21st licensing round received nominations from 43 companies.

228 blocks or parts of blocks have been nominated, 107 of which were nominated by by two or more companies.

"We are pleased to see that this round has attracted so much interest," says Sissel Eriksen, director of exploration in the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate.

The companies have nominated blocks over large parts of the Barents Sea and the Norwegian Sea, with the Barents Sea attracting the most nominations.

”This is probably a result of the new, exciting discoveries made in the last two years, and that is interesting,” states Eriksen.

The oil companies have nominated the blocks they consider interesting. The authorities will now prepare a proposal for which blocks to include in the licensing round.

This proposal will be sent out for a public hearing, where all affected and interested parties will be invited to give their opinions. The Government will decide which blocks to include on the basis of a comprehensive assessment.


The companies that have submitted nominations are:

  • AS Norske Shell
  • BG Norge AS
  • Centrica Energi AS
  • Concedo ASA
  • ConocoPhillips Norge AS
  • Dana Petroleum Norway AS
  • Det norske oljeselskap ASA
  • Dong E&P Norge AS
  • E.ON Ruhrgas Norge AS
  • Edison International SpA Norway Branch
  • Emergy Exploration AS
  • Eni Norge AS
  • ExxonMobil Exploration and Production Norway AS
  • Faroe Petroleum Norge AS
  • Front Eksploration AS
  • GDF SUEZ E&P Norge AS
  • Idemitsu Petroleum Norge AS
  • LOTOS Exploration & Production Norge AS
  • Lundin Norway AS
  • Maersk Oil Norway AS
  • Marathon Petroleum Norge AS
  • North Energy ASA
  • Norwegian Energy Company AS – Noreco
  • OMV (Norge) AS
  • PGNiG Norway AS
  • Repsol Exploration Norge AS
  • Rocksource ASA
  • RWE Dea Norge AS
  • Skagen44 AS
  • Spring Energy Norway AS
  • Statoil Petroleum AS
  • Suncor Energy Norge AS
  • Talisman Energy Norge A/S
  • Total E&P Norge AS
  • Valiant Petroleum Norge AS
  • VNG Norge AS
  • Wintershall Norge ASA

The companies were invited to nominate blocks on 2 November 2011. As in recent rounds, the companies were asked to limit the number of nominated blocks to the 15 they consider to be most interesting.

The 22nd licensing round is scheduled to be announced before summer, with the awards scheduled for the spring of 2013.


Press contact: Eldbjørg Vaage Melberg, tel. +47 51 87 61 00

Contact in the NPD: