Text size adjustment

Hold down the Ctrl key (PC) or Cmd key (MAC) and press "+" to enlarge or "-" to reduce the text size.

Who deserves the IOR prize?

29/03/2012 Do you know of someone who deserves the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate’s prize for improved oil recovery for 2011 – the IOR prize?

The IOR prize is awarded as recognition for creativity, steadfastness, and willingness to take risks as regards using methods and technology that could improve recovery beyond what can be expected with existing plans and methods.

Suggested candidates – with a brief explanation and contact person – can be sent to the email address IOR-Award@npd.no. The deadline for nominating candidates is 1 June.

The 2011 IOR prize will be awarded during the opening ceremony at ONS, the major energy conference and exhibition in Stavanger on Tuesday, 28 August.

On Wednesday, 29 August, the NPD will host a breakfast in Stavanger Forum with the topic of IOR. The prize winner will have an opportunity to present themselves and the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate will present IOR goals and challenges.

The NPD’s IOR prize was awarded for the first time in 1998. The IOR prize has been awarded every year with the exception of 2002 and 2008, when the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate, unfortunately, did not find any worthy candidates.

Previous award winners

2010 -  Professor Tor Austad of the University of Stavanger and the Corec research centre for their work on recovering more oil from chalk reservoirs.

2009 - FMC Technologies for having demonstrated the courage and determination to invest in technology which increases production from seabed wells.

2008 - No worthy candidate found (strong signal about lack of activity in implementing IOR/EOR)

2007 - Talisman for courage and willingness to operate fields at tail end to prolong the production –specially mentioned Yme field redevelopment.

2006 - Halliburton and Baker for developing well technology needed in the Troll field.

2005 - Arne Skauge, Prof at UiB/CIPR, for his success to bring IOR research from laboratories to pilot testing and implementation in fields and for his educational skills.

2004 - Gullfaks license for project decisions and implementation ranging from advanced drilling into new reservoirs to new methods of produced water treatment

2003 - BP for ”Life of Field Seismic” project in the Valhall field

2002 - No worthy candidate found (strong signal about lack of activity in implementing IOR/EOR)

2001 - Statoil and Egil Sunde for the use of bacteria, MEOR, in the Norne field

2000 - Phillips Petroleum for making decisions on IOR/EOR projects in the Ekofisk field even when the oil price was low

1999 - Saga for Foam assisted Water alternating Gas injection, FAWAG –pilot in the Snorre field

1998 - Hydro for drilling of horizontal wells near the oil-water contact in the Troll field to produce more oil from the thin oil leg



Updated: 30/03/2012