The IOR award


Proud winners of IOR 2022: In picture from left to right: Jan Seglem, Manager West, Partner Operated Assets, Vår energi, Minister of Petroleum and Energy Terje Aasland (Labour Party) Camilla Salthe, Senior vice president, Field life extension, Equinor and Director General (interim) Torgeir Stordal.

The IOR award is in recognition of efforts to improve recovery on the Norwegian continental shelf.

The winner of the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate’s IOR award for 2022 is the licensees on the Statfjord field in the North Sea.

What is the IOR award?

The IOR award is awarded by the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate to production licenses, companies, projects or individuals for their commitment to improved recovery.

The IOR award is a prize for creativity, persistence and appetite for risk with regards to utilizing methods and technology to increase recovery beyond what can be expected based on existing plans and methods.

The IOR award was first awarded in 1998. It was not presented in 2002 and 2008, as no worthy winners were found. Since 2012, the IOR award has been awarded in conjunction with Offshore Northern Seas (ONS) conference.


Winner: The licensees on the Statfjord field in the North Sea for utilising a number of IOR measures that contribute to the world-class recovery rate. Read news item and see presentation (PowerPoint)



Winner: Researcher Geir Evensen (ensemble based methods). Read news item

Finalist: The oil and gas company Lundin Energy Norway (formation testing and IOR on the Edvard Grieg field). Read news item and see presentation (pdf) (in Norwegian)

Finalist: Licensees on the Grane field (IOR measures and recovery strategy). Read news item and see presentation (pdf)

Watch a presentation with the winner and the other finalists of the IOR award 2020 on broadcasted tv (in Norwegian)



Winner: Licensees for the Alvheim field in the North Sea (IOR measures and recovery strategy). Read news item and see presentation (pdf)

Finalist: Technology company Resman (tracer technology). Read news item and see presentation (pdf)

Finalist: Professor Svein Magne Skjæveland (excellent research). Read news item and see presentasjon (pdf)



Åsgard licensees (subsea wet gas compressor)



Martin Landrø, NTNU – Norwegian University of Science and Technology (4D seismic)



Statoil (Oseberg gas injection)



Tor Austad (UiS) and Corec (IRIS) (IOR research, chalk fields)



FMC (subsea technology)



Talisman (investments in mature and marginal fields)



Halliburton and Baker Hughes (progressive development and application of advanced drilling and well solutions)



Arne Skauge, CIPR (IOR research)



Statoil and Gullfaks licensees (long term work on improved oil recovery)



BP and Valhall license (Life of field seismic)



Norne-lisensen og Egil Sunde, Statoil (MEOR – Microbial Enhanced Oil Recovery)



Phillips Petroleum Company (Ekofisk water injection)



Saga Petroleum (FAWAG – Foam Assisted Water Alternating Gas injection)



Norsk Hydro and Troll license (Troll oil recovery)



Tel: +47 51 87 60 00

Updated: 30/08/2023

Did you find what you were looking for?

Do not enter personal information here.

We don't answer request from this form. We only use this response to improve the website.


Tel: +47 51 87 60 00